Pushy Broad

Thursday, December 29, 2005

My God, what a fun holiday. It was so much fun watching the kids get so many presents. It all happened exactly the way I envisioned it.

On Christmas Eve I drank a whole bottle of sparkling wine myself. I didn't really get a buzz but I found myself chainsmoking (and I don't even really smoke!) and was very, very tired. The heartburn at 3am sucked ass. Overall, though, Christmas dinner was FANTASTIC (thanks Sharon!) and I enjoyed my time with everyone.

You know, being away from my family made me forget how much I end up missing people when they go away again. When my dad left last night from his 3-day visit here, I choked up and turned away and almost lost it. For the first time in my life I feel like a Daddy's Girl, and I'm 28. It's the first time in my life that I've felt 100% emotionally tied to certain members of my family. I'm really, really sad that it took this long. But hey, better late than never!

Now if only I could get close to my mom. Maybe I'll try working on it this year.

Happy New Year everyone, and damn it, I miss "In The Attic!"

Friday, December 23, 2005

Merry Christmas, everyone. I won't be back on here until Tuesday. I hope you all get a chance to spend time with your families and enjoy the closeness and warmth.

If you're like me and holidays are usually dismal, well, catch up on some good cable TV and hang out with people that make you laugh. A little liquor never hurt anyone, either. Notice I said 'a little.'

Take care.

Wednesday, December 21, 2005

I must need my eyes checked. Because I swear to God that I just read on CNN.com that Saddam Hussein is complaining that the soldiers who discovered him beat and tortured him and seven other prisoners.

Now. Anyone ever see the video footage of Saddam himself shooting people kneeling down in the back of the head? Anyone ever seen the birthday party footage of Saddam's nutcase son beating people and killing them? How about the photos and video footage of the children that were walking down the street minding their own business when they were suddenly gassed?

How about the video footage of prisoners being tortured, whipped, electrocuted, humiliated, etc. etc.? Why is this news? Why does the fucking media DO THIS?

Monday, December 19, 2005

Wouldn't you know I missed another of Rachel and Mikey's performances? Unbelievable. How'd it go, guys? I really need to buy a computer. But I need a new car moreso so...what the fuck, man?

This weekend was kind of boring. I did eight loads of laundry and pretty much screamed at kids all weekend long. We rented "War of the Worlds" and "Dukes of Hazzard" (not my idea, obviously) and "Romeo and Juliet" for Gabbie, she's a huge fan of Leo DiCaprio.

Grocery shopping, laundry, oh and, I spent 6 fucking hours in a clinic with my friend on Saturday, that was NOT fun. I had good magazines to read, though. God I'm a good friend.

Claire and Rachel, I've sent your Christmas cards. No one else bothered to give me addresses.

Friday, December 16, 2005




This is the most beautiful/sad (weird to put those two together, I know) story I have ever read in my life:

BOSTON (Reuters) -- Are diamonds really forever?
An anonymous gift-giver left a $15,000 diamond engagement ring to the owner of an unlocked car in western Massachusetts with a typed note hinting at a broken heart.
"Merry Christmas. Thank you for leaving your car door unlocked. Instead of stealing your car I gave you a present. Hopefully this will land in the hands of someone you love, for my love is gone now. Merry Christmas to you," the note said. (Watch footage of the diamond ring -- :40)
The three-diamond ring with a white-gold band appeared on the seat of the man's car at a train station in Westborough, about 30 miles west of Boston, on December 7, police said. Four days later, the man reported it to police.
"This appears to be random," said Westborough Police Lt. Paul Donnelly. "I think there was a search for a car that was unlocked."
The 37-year-old man decided to keep the ring after a jeweler appraised its value at $15,000, police said.

Wednesday, December 14, 2005

Holy shit, someone stop me!

Today is potluck day at work. Our entire floor (HUGE) is participating in a floor-wide potluck and each section is a different meal. One section is breakfast, etc.

There are bagels, orange juice, muffins, bars, brownies, everything you can imagine. For lunch people have brought hamburgers, red seasoned potatoes, everything...chips and dip, crackers, meats, cheeses...

I cannot stop eating. This is scary. But fucking delicious!

Monday, December 12, 2005

I just watched part of the loop (I will watch the entire thing throughout the day) and caught "Behind Blue Eyes" in it's entirety.

I didn't come into this whole thing a Who fan, in fact my dad is a diehard fan, but I didn't know much about them. I came to the table as a Rachel fan, and, well, I just wanted to say that while watching "Behind Blue Eyes" just now, I actually got tears in my eyes. What?? Why?? It's kind of comical, that the song could move me so much.

I haven't gotten tears in my eyes from a song since Mikey did Plastecine a few weeks ago.

It's funny how music evokes such emotion. Well done, Pete. Thanks for moving me.

***EDIT***

Mikey, just finished watching your set, and it was fucking fantastic. You did so well. I'm pissed that the camera didn't show Renee, though. Your songs were great, and you did a great job overcoming your nervousness and stage fright. I'm so happy for you!!!

*applause*

Monday, December 05, 2005

You know, this weekend sounds like a great weekend to get a hotel room at the casino and just gamble and drink all night long. Maybe do a little swimming, lazing, cable-watching, and maybe even some smoking, we'll see.

I was a hardcore Bingo fanatic a few years back. I think I was the only woman in the bingo hall with natural blonde hair and skin that didn't look like beef jerkey. Anyhow, I ended up winning $1000 one day. I haven't been back since. I do miss it, though.

Some pretty important people to me are missing in action, and have been for the past few weeks. What the fuck? Bermuda Triangle, anyone?

Can't wait to see the loop.

AND, I have to get started on my Christmas cards. You see, I'm not one of those people who just signs my name on a stupid card and mails it. I actually write stuff in them, personal, affectionate stuff. I just received a Christmas card in the mail and it looked like the handwriting of someone who had signed their name about 5,000 times and mine was 4,998. God, I felt special.

Which brings me to my next point. If you'd like a personalized Christmas card from me, Jessica Hensley, please email me your address at jesshensley@yahoo.com. Any info you give me will be promptly deleted and shared with no one. I promise.

Take care, everyone.