Just a random question:
Does anyone have any idea how fucking ANNOYING it is to have an impeccable memory? When I say an impeccable memory, I'm not talking about the standard above-average memory, but the frighteningly photographic memory. I can remember sights, sounds, smells, and words from twenty years ago. How things tasted. Music that was on the radio when certain things happened. The smell of the weather. I can remember how the crickets and cicadas sounded as I lay in bed at around age 8. I can remember how the humidity felt on my forehead.
Not only is it annoying, it's damaging as well. If you ever date me (which, you should pray you don't, HAHA) you will see that I remember EVERYTHING that you ever said or did to me. This is damaging because I cannot (and I mean physically CANNOT) forget anything. Anything, ever. And when I get pissed off, memories come back. And then I act on those memories AGAIN, which is completely unfair. But let's face it folks, I never claimed to be sane. Fair enough?
Ok...so maybe it's not so bad. It can also be awesome. Like, thinking about vacations, kisses from certain people, movies, summers as a kid, etc. I can relive those, quite easily.
The brain is fucking powerful. Scary powerful. When I dream, I can feel things. For instance, I dreamed of a large plane crash a few blocks away a couple years back. I could smell the jet fuel in my dream, and feel the heat from the burning wreckage. Weirddddd.
So, yeah. Just some random thoughts. As you were! (smooches)
Does anyone have any idea how fucking ANNOYING it is to have an impeccable memory? When I say an impeccable memory, I'm not talking about the standard above-average memory, but the frighteningly photographic memory. I can remember sights, sounds, smells, and words from twenty years ago. How things tasted. Music that was on the radio when certain things happened. The smell of the weather. I can remember how the crickets and cicadas sounded as I lay in bed at around age 8. I can remember how the humidity felt on my forehead.
Not only is it annoying, it's damaging as well. If you ever date me (which, you should pray you don't, HAHA) you will see that I remember EVERYTHING that you ever said or did to me. This is damaging because I cannot (and I mean physically CANNOT) forget anything. Anything, ever. And when I get pissed off, memories come back. And then I act on those memories AGAIN, which is completely unfair. But let's face it folks, I never claimed to be sane. Fair enough?
Ok...so maybe it's not so bad. It can also be awesome. Like, thinking about vacations, kisses from certain people, movies, summers as a kid, etc. I can relive those, quite easily.
The brain is fucking powerful. Scary powerful. When I dream, I can feel things. For instance, I dreamed of a large plane crash a few blocks away a couple years back. I could smell the jet fuel in my dream, and feel the heat from the burning wreckage. Weirddddd.
So, yeah. Just some random thoughts. As you were! (smooches)


10 Comments:
At 5:53 PM,
Bri said…
Jess, I have that sort of memory too, although there are periods of my life which I don't remember that well (oddly, they are when I was in my twenties).
Those vivid, sensory memories are great fodder for writing. Put them down in words sometimes.
I had a very rough day. I'm worn out. Hope you're doing ok!
Hugs,
Brina
At 10:24 AM,
Karel said…
YOu can smell the jet fuel?!? OMG!! I get plane crash dreams all the time too, Jess. It freaks me out!!
Hugs,
Karel
At 12:05 PM,
musicmikey said…
Hey Jess, I'm completely the opposite, my memory is terrible, it does mean however, that I very soon forget any bad feeling or argument I've had. Which means I'm more often than not, very happy.
I do remember having a dream when I was in my early teens, where I was locked in a dungeon, and in front of me, was a forty foot mountain of bones, and I had to eat them all, before I could get out. I did it, but when I awoke, I had the evil taste of the bones still in my mouth. One of my pillow's was also missing, only joking about the pillow.
Anyway, my brother always had a perfect memory, and it was impossible to win an arguement for me being so fickle.
I do have vivid memories, but they usually need to be triggered by something. Thanks for posting this great blog, take care memory girl.
mikey
At 12:52 PM,
Fleur de Bee said…
I have an excellent memory too. Lost a bit when I was pregnant...little brain cramps but it was nice to have a little break. I guess they call me detail oriented and sometimes it is a drag!
I have you linked babe but somehow the blogger thing has a black hole in it! No idea, waiting for Customer Service to fix it. They did say something WAS Wrong with my blog >LOL Whatever that means.
Chat with us on Sunday?? Would love to have you!
At 1:07 PM,
Model citizen said…
Because I have no computer at home, and don't work weekends, I will not be able to attend the chat, or be able to watch the Basement Jam. Sabrina, I have both kids this weekend, otherwise I'd come over.
You can imagine how shitty I feel because of this. I'm sorry. I think I might buy myself a computer here soon though.
At 1:20 PM,
Bri said…
Oh Jess, drats!
Maybe you can carve out time on the 17th to come watch that one with me? Maybe, maybe?
Hugs, you're a good mom, ya know.
Love,
Brina
At 3:41 AM,
Fleur de Bee said…
Brina what about a play date with Jessica's kids over at your place? LOL well most of MY friend cart all of their kids here so I guess I am used to it hehe.
If you were closer you and your clan would be welcome here, but that is a plane ticket away I am afraid :(
At 9:17 PM,
Nabonidus said…
Damn, that sucks Jessica.:(
I didn't know you wouldn't be able to see it. Sorry to hear that but hopefully it'll be looped the very next day?
I feel for you. Actually, you aren't even going to see this until after the
fact - we were thinking of you! :)
xoxoLisa
At 10:39 AM,
Bri said…
Jess, I'm determined to have you over on the 17th, if you are able. Ok? Sorry you can't come today. I know Rachel will make this broadcast available again, probably on DVD. Don't despair! (I know, you're not reading this til Monday.)
Hugs,
Brina
At 11:42 AM,
Nabonidus said…
Hey Jess, don't know if you've heard - Pete just posted that it's going to begin looping Thursday the 8th!
I didn't see the whole thing either,
not sure if anyone did due to technical problems. So there ya go!
:D xoxoLisa
Post a Comment
<< Home